East Bremerton Rotary Club names new officers

The Rotary Club of East Bremerton recently installed Gena Wales as president for the 2013-14 year.

Other officers are Charleen Burnette, president-elect; Leslie Peterson, secretary and Deborah Stewart, treasurer.

Sue Shipley was named Rotarian of the Year in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the club.

Port Orchard resident and former local Navy League President Carolyn Dankers was honored as the Rotary Club’s Citizen of the Year.

The award is given to non-Rotarians who exemplify the Rotary ideal of “Service Above Self” and who have made significant contributions to the community.

Dankers was cited as someone who builds bridges between various organizations and motivates others to work for the betterment of those in need.

In addition to her work with the Navy League, Dankers has also served as a board member for United Way Kitsap and a board member for the Kitsap Regional Library Foundation.

For more information about the Rotary Club of East Bremerton call Patty Murphy at 360-479-6500.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates