BRIEF | Rotary Club of East Bremerton

June was a busy month for the Rotary Club of East Bremerton. In addition to welcoming in a new board of directors, the club presented scholarships to graduating Olympic High School students.

On June 1, nine scholarships were given to graduating seniors, boosted by a $5,000 donation from the Islam Foundation. Jordyn Marxen and Loralyn Jackson were each awarded $1,000 per year; Joanne Magitbay, Sarah Moore and Dana Yenko were awarded $1,000 scholarships; and $500 scholarships were awarded to Kyle Brobst, Robert Layton, Matthew Lutz and Oksana Ruffin.

Three scholarships were presented to the Central Kitsap Alternative High School. Cindi Rubio was awarded $1,000 and Katey Thompson and Olivia Brown were awarded $500 each.

On June 29 the Rotary Club of East Bremerton honored its outgoing board of directors and welcomed the incoming board. The new board of directors consists of President Jerry LeTexier, President Elect Gena Wales, Foundation President Dave White, Treasurer Debbie Stewart, Secretary Leslie Peterson and Sergeant at Arms Jay Lovato.

Phyllis Mann was named Rotarian of the Year by the club. A Rotarian for nearly eight years, Mann worked as the club administrator and led numerous events and fundraisers.

The Citizen of the Year Award was given to Scott Alexander. The award is given to a non-Rotarian who exemplifies service above self. Alexander has served as the Director of Gold Mountain Golf Course for the last 28 years.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates