Bremerton couple to be honored by State Democrats

Jim and Ginger Sommerhauser were chosen as the Volunteers of the Year by the Washington State Democrats and will be honored Sept. 15 in Seattle.

Jim is the 23rd Legislative District State Committeeman. Ginger is the Kitsap County Democrats Treasurer.

They will each receive a “Maggie,” an award named in honor of Warren G. Magnuson. This is the 20th year for the Maggies.

The awards dinner, which will honor 10 Democrats, will be at the Washington State Convention Center in Seattle. Governor Ted Strickland, of Ohio, will speak.

Also to be honored are:

Jeff Smith, Seattle, who will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. He is the former State Democratic Party executive director.

Senators Nick Harper, of the 38th Legislative District and Sharon Nelson of the 34th Legislative District, will be honored as the Elected Officials of the Year.

Jennifer Slemp, 20th Legislative District, will be named Chairman of the Year. Jan Connolly, Franklin County Democrats, will be named Committeewoman of the Year. Kent Verbeck, Kittitas County Democrats, won State Committeeman of the Year. Monisha Harrell, 21st Legislative District Treasurer and Josh Castle, of the 43rd Legislative District Democrats, are the rising Stars of the Year.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates