Council has new officers

The Bremerton-Olympic Peninsula Council of the Navy League of the United States recently installed new 2014 officers and board members. The council’s elected officers for 2014 are Larry Salter, President, Erin Sorensen, Vice President for Outreach, Neva Lamb, Vice President for Internal Affairs, David Ellingson, Treasurer, Ruth Bond, Secretary, and George Rose, Judge Advocate.

For 2014, the Board of Directors will be comprised of Robert Cairns, Byron Faber, Patricia Faber, Cynthia Martin, Joe Hulsey, Charlotte Erhardt, Robert Lamb, Heidi Hottinger, Tina Salter, Carolyn Dankers, Helen Miller, Tom Danaher, Alan Beam, Jack James, Kevin Torcolini, and Tim Katona, immediate past president.

After installation, Salter praised Katona for his leadership in 2013 and pledged to continue moving the organization forward during challenging fiscal times for the sea services. In addition to recurring activities and key sponsorships, such as Memorial Day observances at the USS Turner Joy in Bremerton, or the Armed Forces Day Gala, Salter challenged the Board to expand youth outreach programs, including new initiatives to enhance student interest in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM).

Also on the agenda for 2014 are continued preparations and planning for the commissioning of PCU WASHINGTON (SSN 787), a VIRGINIA-Class submarine under construction at Virginia’s Newport News Shipbuilding scheduled to be delivered to the Navy in February 2017.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates