CK’s Dever earns share of Narrows League MVP award

From KITSAP NEWS Reports

While 2007 was another strong year for the volleyball teams in the Silverdale area, it was kinder to no one more than Reese Dever.

Dever, the Central Kitsap libero, continued to redefine how important the position is and can be to a team, earning herself a share of the Narrows League MVP award, a practically unheard-of acheivement for a libero.

But Dever wasn’t the only area netter to get some love in the form of all-league recognition.

The All-Olympic League and All-Narrows League volleyball teams are listed below. Check back Saturday for the all-league football teams.

All-Olympic League

Volleyball Team

MVP: Danielle Cook, Jr., North Mason

Coach of the year: Jim Guthrie, Port Townsend

Sportsmanship: Port Angeles, Port Townsend

First Team

Maci Hunt, Jr., North Mason; Tessa Kush, Sr., Port Townsend; Shelby Napiontek, Jr., Port Angeles; Megan Rainey, Jr., Olympic; Kait McDougal, Sr. Sequim; Brita Guthrie, Sr., Port Townsend

Second Team

Stephanie Hicks, Jr., North Mason; Annie Lim, Sr., Peninsula; Joanna Sprouffske, Jr., North Mason; Alex Beeber, Jr., North Mason; Amy Stone, So., Olympic; Nica Ogazi, Sr., Bremerton; Sonia Elofson, Jr., Port Angeles

Honorable Mention

Ashley Erickson, Sr., Sequim; Hailey McHugh. Sr., Sequim; Jessie Holbrook, Sr., Port Townsend; Katelyn Lewis, Sr., Port Angeles; Asia Davis, Sr., Bremerton; Krista Ellis, Sr., Port Townsend; Samantha Viray, So., Olympic; Kayla Erickson, So., Peninsula; Cara Burrowes, Sr., Sequim; Jessica Wilson, Sr., Klahowya.

All-Narrows League

Volleyball Team

Co-MVPs: Reese Dever, Central Kitsap; Danielle Reese, Gig Harbor; Marlayna Geary, Bellarmine.

Coach of the Year: Sue Westering, Gig Harbor.

First team

Rosa Gimson, Olympia, sr.; Amber roberts, Wilson, sr.; Katlyn Kester, Wilson, sr.; Bree LeRoy, Gig Harbor, sr.; Elizabeth Armstrong, Olympia, sr.; Lamonica McNellis, Gig Harbor, sr.

Second Team

Angela Spieker, CK, sr.; Alyssa Mannikko, Bellarmine, sr.; Jamie Ecklund, Wilson, sr.; Brigit Miller, Olympia, jr.; Sally Candler, Bellarmine, sr.; Katy Ferguson, Stadium, jr.; Jessica Ouellet, North Kitsap, sr.

Honorable Mention

Karina Shelton, Lincoln; Ellen Anderson, Stadium; Stephanie Jones, Foss; Judy Brenneka, Mount Tahoma; Blayne Berryman, GH; Tara Patton, CK; Stephanie Osterdahl, SK; Lauren Forney, CK; Kelsey Potter, GH; Megan Triggs, Olympia; Brandy Johnson, Wilson; Gina Hathorn, Bellarmine.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates