Silverdale athletes raked in spring honors

While the won-loss column isn’t always the best indicator of the success a particular team experiences in a given season, other indicators can point to those things.

Among them, all-league teams.

They are the opportunity to recognize those who stood out on the winless teams, to the key players that led to postseason glory, to everyone in between.

Silverdale-area athletes and coaches stole the show this year, earning three MVP awards, three Coach of the Year (COY) titles and placed a total of 65 coaches and athletes across six all-league teams in boys soccer, softball and baseball. Here’s a recap of who did what in which league this spring.

Boys Soccer

Beginning in the Olympic League, where Olympic came within a point of a league crown, the honors flowed heavily with David Meherg not only securing a first-team spot for the Trojans, but winning the Olympic League’s MVP award. Meherg was the Trojans top midfielder, containing both a viable scoring punch and the ability to set up his teammates. Meherg was also sizable but quick, allowing him to keep pace with anyone in the Oly League. Meherg scored 11 goals with 4 assists this season.

Joining Meherg on the All-Olympic League First Team was the league’s top goal scorer Cody Clark, who scored 17 goals in his junior season. Sophomore defender Derek Conway-Newton also made the first team, anchoring Oly’s backfield.

And while Klahowya wasn’t able to muster a win in Oly League play this season, junior forward Darryn Reinertson was stellar as usual, putting five in the back of the net.

Oly’s Arturo Urquieta and Kevin Anglada, both capable of playing the midfield and forward positions, earned second-team honors, as did Eagle Pedro Cerquiera, a nice option next to Reinerston for Klahowya.

Oly senior defender Matt Clark made honorable mention, as did Klahowya seniors Neil Stallings (defender) and Kelly Smith (goal keeper) and junior defender Tucker Moran.

Central Kitsap was able to place two on the All--Narrows League First Team, with junior midfielder Lee Pendt and junior defender Colin Barry earning the league’s top accolades.

Midfielder Chase Park, a senior, earned a spot on the second team, as did juniors Kane Williams, a defender, and Zach Pendt, the team’s keeper.

Juniors Kevin Barnes and Andrew Kitchen, sophomore Adam Cronin and freshman Ryan Hough all took honorable mention honors.


The Narrows League softball season all but belonged to Central Kitsap as the Cougars made it back to state for the first time since 2000. As a result, the honors reflected that success, with pitcher/first baseman Erika Quint taking a share of the league’s MVP award and coach Bruce Welling earning Coach of the Year honors.

Quint, who battled through the loss of her father, enjoyed a stellar senior season, going 7-2 for CK, striking out 85 in 58 innings while posting a 1.08 ERA. She also hit .456 with 26 RBI.

Welling not only helped Quint through the hard times, but took a team with multiple sophomore starters back to the state


Pitcher Carolyn Cross earned first-team recognition as did seniors Kendall Sours, Karli Baumgartner and Brittney Romano.

Sophomore outfielder Erin Curtis earned a second-team spot and Amy Renfrow, Katie Hanten and Lauren Weber were all honorable mentions.

A pair of Trojans and Eagles helped make up the All-Olympic League First Team, with Klahowya senior Brittany Devitt leading the way. She was joined by fellow Eagle Kazandra Holliday and Trojans Kelsey Anchors and Rachel Haas on the first team.

Trojans Kelsey Strickland and Athena Rosario found homes on the second team along side Klahowya’s Meika Bumbalough. Eagle Jocylynn Meadows and Oly’s Lexi Orteza were both named honorable mentions.


CK’s Caleb Brown won the Narrows League MVP award after dominating pitchers to a .438 average with six homers and 29 RBI.

He was joined by senior teammate David Stilley and sophomore Casey Bohlman on the first team. KJ McLean, Nate Roberts and Bard Durham all earned second-team honors for the Cougs, while Dan Beckon, Andrew Braun, Dan Zylstra and Howie Kim were all named honorable mentions.

Oly and Klahowya put a double whammy on the Oly League’s Coach of the Year awards, with Trojan coach Nate Andrews winning 3A honors and Klahowya’s David Neet taking the 2A’s.

The Trojans landed Elliott Thorsen, Jeremy Huffman, Jimmy Groat and Ronnie Purser on the All-Olympic League First Team, as did Eagle Rusty Devitt.

Eagles Seth and Jordan Green and Josh Ryan made the second team.

Tyler Marshall, Bryan Deszell and Austin Manson all took honorable mention honors for Oly, as did Eagles Chris Miller and Brandon Neet.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates