Lane wins MVP honors

While the Klahowya Eagles boys soccer team may not have gone as far as it would have liked this postseason, plenty of recognition is still rolling in.

The Eagles, who finished with Steilacoom atop the Nisqually League at 8-2-0 (9-6-1 overall), swept the major awards for the league, with Josh Lane claiming league Most Valuable Player honors.

“No, not at all,” Klahowya coach Troy Oelschlager said when asked if he was surprised at Lane’s selection. “He got a lot of respect from coaches and players throughout the league.”

Lane, a senior midfielder for the Eagles, was one of the most versatile players on the field, opening holes to hit his teammates with passes and taking the ball straight to the goal himself when needed. With his outstanding footwork, he made some defenders simply look foolish.

“His stats aren’t always the most amazing, but he works so hard off the ball,” Oelschlager said. “Without him on the field, the game just changes.”

Oeschlager said Lane has the opportunity to play for Olympic College next year and is visiting The Evergreen State College in Olympia this weekend.

In addition, Oelschlager was named coach of the year after leading the Eagles within a game of state for the second straight year. The difference? This squad lost several key players from the year before, but never skipped a beat. With Oelschlager at the helm, there’s no reason this team, with just four varsity returners, can’t repeat its success.

“It’s always nice to get some recognition from your peers,” Oelschlager said. “But it’s mostly a reflection of how the team did. This was an easy group to coach.”

In addition to Lane and Oelschlager, the Eagles team was also awarded the Team Sportsmanship award and goalie Bryce Wick and defender Elias Cook earning first team honors. Defender Jason Hippe was named to the second team.

“Bryce was well deserved,” Oelschlager said. “He only gave up three goals in the whole league season. He kept us in every game. He’s by far the best keeper we’ve had.

“And Elias, both him and Josh are repeat first-teamers.”

Nisqually All-League Honors

MVP — Josh Lane, Sr., Klahowya

Coach of the Year — Troy Oelschlager, Klahowya

Team sportsmanship — Klahowya


GK Bryce Wick, Sr., Klahowya; D Damir Alic, Sr., Foster; D Elias Cook, Sr., Klahowya; D Theo Krah, Sr., Vashon Island; D Ryan Moss, Sr., Port Townsend; MF Andy Chinn, Jr., Sequim; MF Sean Grisham, Sr., Steilacoom; MF Kennan Johns, Jr., Port Townsend; MF Harvey Mendoza, Jr., Steilacoom; MF Cole Travis, So., Chimacum; F Casey Nagler, Sr., Sequim; F Chris Sands, Sr., Port Townsend; F Eric Warren, Sr., Cascade Christian


GK Darko Slugic, Sr., Foster; D Jason Hippe, Sr., Klahowya; D Drew Kurata, Sr., Port Townsend; D Brandon Peters, Jr., Orting; D Sean Sterling, Sr., Cascade; MF Bill DeGrenier, Sr., Cascade Christian; MF Noel Leonard, Jr., Port Townsend; MF Walker Smith, Sr., Vashon Island; MF Nathan Tomyn, Sr., Eatonville; F Dane Gallion, Sr., Cascade Christian; F Danny Morrow, Sr., Steilacoom.


Klahowya: Nathan Hill, Stephen Lambert, Travis Hunter.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates